Schedule (Section 3) Part 1, Section 5 (1) of the Nurses and Midwives Act provides for the establishment of Committees by the Council for the purposes of performing its functions.

Members of such Committees are appointed from amongst the Full Council members. In accordance with this provision, the Council has five (5) Committees namely:


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is the administrative authority of the Council which works closely with the Secretariat in dealing with administration issues of the Council.

Sub-Committees of the Executive Committee

  • Finance, Audit and ICT
  • Finance Committee
  • Buildings Committee
  • Procurement Committee

Education Committee

This Committee determines the nursing and midwifery training programs offered by the Council. It also sets rules and regulations relating to education and training of nurses and midwives.

Examinations Committee

This Committee appoints examiners, considers and approves qualifying examination questions and results for the various nursing and midwifery programs.

Standards Committee

This Committee:

  • Sets and monitors standards of nursing and midwifery practice
  • Spearheads operational research activities
  • Collaborates with Principal Nursing Officers in planning and implementing effective approaches in improving the quality of health care at every level of the health service delivery system

Professional Conduct Committee

This Committee is responsible for hearing and receiving evidence on matters of professional misconduct and may recommend that a professional person that is found guilty of infamous conduct may be:

  • Censured
  • Cautioned
  • Ordered to pay the Council any costs connected with or incidental to the proceedings
  • Erased from the register